the Absurdity of a Daily Midnight Stroll

‘Tis a very strange tale, I tell you.

There I was sitting calmly by the bamboo field

Idling, you might say, 

Reflecting on the meaninglessness

Of life, the absurdity of it all

And Lo! there he was

The green-eyed monster

Standing on top of a tree

Looking straight in my eye.

I simply sweated

For no apparent cause

Only that it gave me a feeling so eerie

That he or she, or she or he

Or Jordan the cat

Looked on with such a cold eye

As it rooted into my thoughts.

But alas so soon it prised its gaze away

Disgusted

Jumped over the trees

Chasing a flicker in the leaves.

I was found–broken–ruined–deprived of mystery

The cat knew it all

I sat still and stared at the absence 

Everything was seen, nothing safe

There’s no escape from prying.

(Nights are never dark enough.)

One thought on “the Absurdity of a Daily Midnight Stroll

Leave a Reply

